New editions of Golding’s novels

New edition book covers

On 7th November 2013, Faber and Faber will be reissuing many of Golding’s novels. Lord of the Flies and The Inheritors were re-released in 2011 to mark the Golding centenary, with fascinating introductions by Stephen King and John Carey, respectively. The new editions feature beautiful new cover designs from Neil Gower. Each of the re-issued novels feature an introduction from distinguished critics and novelists and the list is below.


Darkness Visible – Philip Hensher

Free Fall – John Gray

Pincher Martin – Philippa Gregory

The Spire – John Mullan

Rites of Passage – Robert McCrum

Fire Down Below – Victoria Glendinning

Close Quarters – Ronald Blythe

The Pyramid – Penelope Lively

The Double Tongue – Meg Rosoff

The Scorpion God – Craig Raine

The Paper Men – Andrew Martin

Related Resources

  • On the original manuscript of The Inheritors, Golding wrote that the 'centre symbol is the waterfall,…

  • Golding’s biographer, John Carey, writes that Savernake Forest, on the outskirts of Marlborough,Wiltshire, was the inspiration…